||: work travel :||

Thank you for your patience. It has taken me a little longer to get back to my languishing blog than I anticipated, but my grueling work/travel cycle left me just enough time to tend to my lower-maslowian needs (e.g. cooking food, cleaning clothes, watching Netflix). Luckily for you, I have taken my last weekend trip for a while, which means I will have time to catch you up on all of the Places I’ve Been and Things I’ve Done (which seem both more exotic and more important when I use capitals and italics).

Unfortunately for me, my last weekend trip ended T.S. Eliot-style, meaning more of a whimper than a bang. After 259 days of more or less successfully living in Turkey, I contracted typhoid and died. Or was that my last game of Oregon Trail? In all seriousness, on Monday I got food poisoning in Mardin, a 14-hour bus ride from Nevsehir. I was incapable of attempting the return bus ride until Tuesday night, and incapable of recovering from it until… well, I am still feeling pretty terrible, so I’ll get back to you on that one. I’ve spent most of the centuries between now and Monday wishing I could hit re-set and start my quest for the promise of Oregon where I’d last saved it. Anyway, you’ll get to hear All About It (the italics seem more ominous now, yes?) as soon as I finish (fine, start) grading student portfolios and plan my final lessons.

Until then, here’s a list of Places I’ve Been Since We Last Spoke:

  • Istanbul (twice!)
  • Van
  • Gallapoli
  • Canakkale
  • Konya
  • Kars
  • Ani
  • Urfa
  • Mardin

2 Comments

Filed under Nevsehir

2 responses to “||: work travel :||

  1. Emily, I’m so sorry you are sick! 😦 Prayers on the way!!

  2. Barbara

    SHOOT! I’M SORRY YOU CONTRACTED THE TYPHOID! BEST WISHES, THE ORGAN TRAIL (which I assumed you left as everything escaped your body)

Leave a Reply

